Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board consists of distinguished members of the food industry who play an active role in educating industry professionals about the importance of food safety.

    Chair: Steve Sklare, President, The Food Safety Academy


  • Angela Anandappa, Ph.D., Founding Director, Alliance for Advanced Sanitation
  • April Bishop, Senior Director of Food Safety, TreeHouse Foods
  • Robert E. Brackett, Ph.D., Vice President, Illinois Institute of Technology; Director, Institute for Food Safety and Health
  • John Butts, Ph.D., VP Research, Land O’ Frost, and President, Food Safety by Design
  • Darin Detwiler, Assistant Dean, Northeastern University College of Professional Studies. Lead Faculty for the MS: Regulatory Affairs of Food and Food Industries program.
  • Karen Everstine, Ph.D., Technical Director, Food Safety Solutions, FoodChain ID
  • Angela Fernandez, Vice President of Community Engagement, GS1 US
  • Elise Forward, President and Principal Consultant, Forward Food Solutions
  • Melody Ge, Food Safety & Quality Assurance Director, Starkist
  • Jorge Hernandez, VP of Quality, The Wendy’s Company
  • Melanie Neumann, EVP and General Counsel at Matrix Sciences International Inc, LLC
  • Debby L. Newslow, President, D. L. Newslow & Associates, Inc.
  • Palmer Orlandi, Jr., Ph.D., Deputy Executive Director & Chief Science Officer at AOAC International
  • Armand Paradis, Director of Business Development, Institute for Food Safety and Health
  • Eric Putnam, Quality Assurance Manager, King Juice Co./Calypso Lemonade
  • Mike Robach, CEO, The Robach Group
  • Shawn K. Stevens, Founder, Food Industry Counsel, LLC
  • Patricia Wester, President, P.A. Wester Consulting and CEO, and The Association for Food Safety Auditing Professionals, PA Wester